HER EYES

#poetry #love 

They defy the spectacles on my face,
To drive emotions deep down my heart
And link my thoughts to the many futures we can build together.

Though I like almonds,
And those two eyes really look like almonds,
The juice from your almonds I must not lust for.
Except of course, they are juices of joy.

Though they make every moment with her seem
Like a movie that ends abruptly no thanks to time,
They are the only souvenirs I lock deep down my heart.

I patiently await the mornings,
That your soprano would replace the boring falsetto of my alarm,
And those eyes would be like
Dual sunrise in one morning!

Amos Adejimi

Leave a Reply

